Posted by: Na Ceardan | 22/11/2008

Another milestone here & …

“The only difference between reality and fiction is that fiction has to be credible.    – Mark Twain”

Another Saturday here in northern Saskatchewan, sipping our morning coffee, listening to ‘Stan The Man’ on CBC Internet Live Radio we hear of yet another storm hitting the Island & east. The temperature is rather balmy here at -14ºC with the wind blowing a fierce 15kms. I can still smile contently. I finally got the slates of the pool table levelled & fastened down last evening. Thanks to the help of my neighbour & friend Rod. Since he helped me get the stair lift in I can now get down to the basement I have been setting up my shop/studio & more importantly the pool table!

For the last 2 days I have been trying to level the table on my own. While it’s not a complex task, requiring only a knowledge of understanding the physics of a rolling ball vs the ball not rolling, it can become a burdensome when you don’t have the use of your legs. I must have worn out the arse of a couple of pairs of jeans transferring from wheelchair to stool then floor & back again … inserting &/or removing wedges to try & get one corner level only to find the other corner way out of wack! Jacking up that corner resulted in put the first corner out wack again! Being stubborn I kept at it for 2 days before calling Rod to come to the rescue. It took about 1½ hrs to get the whole table level with Rod’s help last evening.  Friends, eh? Nothing like them!

Today I finish tightening & applying the levelling compound & then back to the workbench(es). Something I can definitely do on my own …. yippeeee for the stubborn old gimp!

-=-=-=-=-=-= 
Bu mhath an sgàthan sùil caraid.
{A friend’s eye is a good looking-glass.}
-=-=-=-=-=-=


Leave a comment

Categories