Posted by: Na Ceardan | 23/11/2008

Busy days in sunny LA …

Friday evening our friends/neighbours dropped down to help me level the slates on my pool table … well Rod did, his wife came along to visit with Pam. It didn’t take long for Rod & I to do the table & then we had a couple of beers to visit. Dry business that work. 🙂 Saturday is usually our ‘shopping, library day but this Saturday it was all shopping. Christmas is coming up & we want to get on top of it before the big day. The local Christmas craft fair was also happening on Saturday & the weather, while cool is sunny & quite comfortable. So we wrapped Molly up in her down jacket, set Chesney up with a tasty treat & a warm bed & off we went.

The Craft Fair was great, lots of great stuff, art & crafts & a table full of Cree beadwork, some antler carvings but I can’t say what in case our kids & grandchildren happening to be reading this blog. Wouldn’t want to ruin their Christmas. I picked up a couple of nice photos & great Cree painting by a local artist. After leaving the fair we headed off to Robertson’s Trading Post to look at more local leatherwork & check out the meats. You never know what surprises that the butcher has brought in. Could be some elk, or bison or boar & most times there is the sausages! Blueberry & wild rice, cranberry & pork from down south. Or, hopefully the best of their sausages Bison & MuskOx links.
And finally we finish our day’s outing at the local Co-Op picking a few groceries. As you can see a day in LA can be boring. 🙂

Today I paid the price of a day of leisure by filling the seams between the pool table’s slates & screw holes. After which I worked on getting both my workbenches setup again. While for most folks these tasks would simple but for me it becomes a mammoth & exhausting task so I work for 30 mins at the most & then rest up for the next burst. It is taking a long time to get setup but one day, soon I will be back at the carving & art & posting the results right here … so keep watch.

-=-=-=-=-=-=
Bu mhath an sgàthan sùil caraid.
[A friend’s eye is a good looking-glass.]
-=-=-=-=-=-=


Leave a comment

Categories